Sensory Integration Disorder (SID)

tab346

As I am new to the Sensory Integration Disorder (SID) area, I was wonding if anyone had any ideas of items we can make or subsititute. Any hints on making our own weighted blankets? What can I fill them with? And chewy necklaces or bracelets? The expensive ones I bought get stuck in their hair and they cry. My son does not like this on his neck. Looking for alternative ideas. Thanks.

susiestar

Roll With It
My son chews on his shirts - either the neck or the sleeves. I will NOT buy new shirts and he doesn't mind. Our church thrift store has nice stuff for 50 cents a shirt. I usually buy 8 to 10 shirts every 6 to 8 weeks. Just works out for us.

He had the distressing habit of licking his fingers and wiping them on his face last year. knowing about the sensory issues, his teacher called me about it. I asked him what was up and he said he did it to cool down when the room was too hot. We worked out his being able to hold up 2 fingers and then get up and get a paper towel wet to wipe on his face. Much nicer. We have been lucky in that his teachers have at least understood that there is a REASON behind strange behaviors, usually one we can help with.

This year he was at "Walk and Talk" before school and was pushed from behind. He landed on concrete and his face was majorly scabbed up. The child who pushed him said it was an accident, but the school knew better. She has done this to many children. BUT they were harder on her for pushing thank you because they knew he just didn't have the instincts or ability to get his hands out to catch himself. I was amazed that Ididn't have to explain this to them!

For chew necklaces, are there strings that theylike the feel of that you could tie the chewys on? We didn't like the necklace part either. But he doesn't like the way the chewy necklaces feel and taste, so.....

Have you gotten the book "The Out-of-Sync Child Has Fun!" by Carol Kranowitz? It has AMAZING ideas to help you cope.