So there are others out there just like me.....

RachaelandBill

Ok.... I am REALLY new to this whole forum thing so you all will have to bear with me. I have 3 children ages 5, 6, and 7. My 6 yr old I guess would be my difficult child. From the age of 3 he has been violent and extremely defiant. We have been to every dr. known to man in this area. The only definate diagnosis he has been given was severe ADHD combination type. Things have esculated in the last 3 1/2 yrs that I am HONESTLY afraid for my children's safety as well as amine. He has threatened to stab me and went to the kitchen to get a knife to do it. He has grabbed lighters and threatened to set me on fire. He has chased his sister through the house with pencils in an effort to stab her. He even hurts himself. He rams his head into walls or anything he can find for that matter. He has had 2 hospital stays in the last year but both times he was a totally different child while he was there and then wthin hours of his discharge he is punching, kicking , spitting, biting or any other harm he can do to me. It is only me and his siblings that he attacks. Anyone who keeps him for me or even his teacher are in awe that this is going on at home because they say that he is a total "angel" there. But within an hour of him coming home he is a terror. He is on Focalin XR for the ADHD but as we have discussed with the dr. that is not going to solve the anger problems. ANY kind of help that ANYONE can give me... advice, suggestions, possible diagnosis PLEASE let me know

A

agee

I don't have any help for you except a BIG Virtual HUG because I know how it is to have a child who acts one way in public and completely different at home. It makes you feel so, so isolated and you start to doubt yourself as a parent and as a sane individual.