Such a Newbie... in so many ways...

Jewlz0113

Hello All... I've been lurking for a few days and I can see already that there are some FABULOUS ladies here with not only a plethora of knowledge and experience, but a hefty dose of compassion as well. It appears as though this may be just what I'm looking for and I couldn't be happier!

As the title of my thread indicates, I am such a newbie. Not only am I new to this board, but I'm new to the world of difficult child. I have only been "dealing" with these new challenges for a little more than a year. My husband has two children, one of which has ADHD/ODD and lives with us (SDS). His daughter (12) lives with their mother. The children see and spend time with each other every weekend (one with their father; the next with their mother, etc.). The "official" reason the children are not living together is that they cannot get along. Mom claimed that SDS was physically threatening SDD and that she was frightened by him. That it was not healthy for them to live together. Although some of that may be fact, the truth of the matter is that Mom did not and does not want SDS. (I could go on about Mom and her antics, but I'll not bore you with the details. I'm sure you'll learn about her as we go along...) SDS was adopted at the age of 4. Bio mom did drugs/alcohol during pregnancy and then the boy spent 4 years in and out of foster care. And not all that care was provided in a loving environment. Needless to say, he's got some real issues beyond the official diagnosis. All in all, he's a good kid. When he's not being manipulative, disrespectful, and/or defiant, he's incredibly loving. You know that saying: when he's good he really good and when he's bad, he's horrid! I'm sure this all sounds very familiar to you all...