Ted Kennedy died

JJJ

America is somehow something less today. We were raised looking up to the Kennedy's and their contributions to America politics. (Being Irish Catholic in America and being born on the same day at Robert Kennedy's assassination).

No other single family in modern times has had such an impact on who we are as a country. He will be missed.

muttmeister

I just heard the news when I woke up. Somehow, I do feel that we, as a country, are less than we were; that we somehow how lost something important. In spite of being from a staunchly Republican family, I was a great fan of President Kennedy, who was elected about the time I went from grade school to high school. Robert Kennedy spoke at the University of Nebraska while I was a student there and I campaigned for him. In a way, I think Ted Kennedy will have a greater influence than either of them, as he was a power in the Senate for so long. Whether you loved him or loathed him, he did a lot of good for us. I just heard them say on TV that, by his votes over the years, he was the most bi-partisan Senator there. That surprised me. He was always a voice for the poor, and the down-trodden. We all know he was human with human frailties, but so are we all. My greatest hope, which may not come true, is that they will pass some kind of a meaningful health care bill and name it after him.

Fran

Former desparate mom
It is a sad day.
Mutt, I didn't know he was the most bipartisan senator. It actually makes me respect him more. He represented all his constituents and wanted all of them to feel the effects of democracy. Not just the downtrodden.
His flaws were of a more personal nature and didn't really have anything to do with the job he did. None of my business. I'm glad he got over them and continued on with his work.
Public service was what he did for us. A very impressive person.

TerryJ2