The Final Segment in the house/mortgage saga....or is it??

DDD

It went down the drain today. Interestingly enough I didn't think it would..or could..actually. Our 2nd offer was "accepted" by the gov't real estate rep who was the contact person for the Realtor. I felt I had to try to get the price just a hair lower because extensive repairs turned out to be needed BUT as an experienced retired Realtor I was confident that the worst case scenario was that we would have to live with the 2nd (and accepted) offer.

NOT. Turns out that the gov't real estate rep has a supervisor. The supervisor informed him "we are not going to sell that house below asking price". OMG. I guess I should have known that gov't is not the same as private enterprise but I figured acceptance was acceptance.

Although difficult child#1, his girlfriend, husband and I are all disappointed. Compared to life and death I know it's not the end of the world. My curiosity is really peaked. The Supervisor knows that the Realtor's listing ends in two weeks. He declared "we will sell the house at Auction". Turns out that there is an online site called Auction.com where foreclosures come up for bids. I haven't figured out the site yet but I am going to. When the house comes up for auction...I'm going to bid and see what happens. :) on the other hand if we find a cheaper house before then we'll let the "dream" house go to somebody else. I just think it could be very very funny if the bids are all lower that what we were prepared to pay. Thanks for the patient support. October has been hellacious and I needed friendly acts of kindness. DDD

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
DDD, I seriously would become hysterical if you bidded low............and wound up snatching it up at a MUCH lower price than you offered. THAT would be awesome karma, don'tcha think? LOL

Well, I'm sorry they weren't smart. Maybe there is a good reason it didn't work out for you.

(((hugs)))

tiredmommy