The lady from MR/daughter was here today

F

flutterbee

Our appointment was at 11:00 and she got here before 10:30! I had just gotten out of the shower...wasn't even dressed! :faint:

Anyway, she talked to difficult child a lot and looked over the neuropsychologist report and the IEP. And then she said, "I'm really confused. I've done this for 20 years and I've never come across anything like this."

You know, I've been hearing that for 7 years now and I'm kinda getting tired of it. I remember telling difficult child's former therapist that I was really wanting to educate the school so when another kid like difficult child comes along, they'll be able to help. Her response was, "I don't think they'll ever have another kid like difficult child." *blink*

I understand that difficult child doesn't fit into some little box. But, we need to find some services that can help her in areas that she is struggling and most of those areas are areas that MR/daughter can help.

She does fit the criteria in that she has significant trouble in at least 3 areas that they require. But, she doesn't have a developmental disability diagnosis. So, she's going to talk to their consulting psychologist, give her the neuropsychologist report and see if she'll meet with difficult child. It sounds like she really wants to be able to get Wynter in their program; she just has to find a way for her to meet all of the eligibility requirements. At least, that's what I took from it.

After she had been talking with difficult child a bit, she asked me if anyone had mentioned apraxia to me. They hadn't. So, I'll have to look into that.

At 1:30 we have an appointment with the doctor for sleep medications. I'm hoping to get Seroquel, but I don't know if she'll be comfortable rx'ing it, and if she is we'll have to fight the insurance company.

Wish me luck.

Last edited by a moderator:

gcvmom

Here we go again!
Hope she gets in!

I wonder what the reservations on Seroquel would be...