Things that make you go ... WTH?

sosotired

I did a bad thing. I decided to try the summer with no medications on board. DS is 12 and hasn't had a change in medications, other then the addition of Abilify about 5 months ago, in the last three years. I thought I'd regret it terribly, would have to slowly ramp up the dosages to where they were again and suffer for the stupid choice.

I weaned him off of everything almost 2 months ago now (slowly over about 4 weeks). I know, I know, I'm not a doctor, I should have consulted him, it could have been really bad for DS but this is a NEW KID! He's MUCH more pleasant to be around. He's sleeping regularly FOR ONCE IN HIS LIFE. He's eating. He's handling things I thought he'd never be able to handle.

I really don't know what to think. Obviously, a lot of it could be change in environment. He's not in school but he is in all day summer camp, still having to deal with other kids but not the pressures of homework. Maybe some of it is the fact that he's grown a ton in the last 6 months and other areas are developing as well. I don't know. What I do know, is I wish there were an easier way to play this medication roulette.

I will be keeping him off until school starts then very closely monitoring him. If his teachers communicate even an inkling of previous issues, I'll get him started on ramping up his medications again.

I love summer. I hate school!!

susiestar

Roll With It
It is never recommended to make medication changes without the guidance of the prescribing doctor. With some medications you can have serious problems, even death, if the medication is not stopped correctly. It is generally thought to be just as dangerous to stop medications with-o the advice of a doctor as it is to start medications with-o same advice (for prescription medications, of course).