Thinning Hair - Biotin and shampoo Part 2

DDD

I've gotten the little gel caps and started on those last night. Couldn't find what seemed like the "right" shampoo in town but husband picked up "thick & full biotin & collagen shampoo" by Oranix for me. Not sure if the "ix" equals "ic" but "collagen" is what I thought people used for face wrinkles ??? Hmm...can you tell I am not a rocket scientist?? Anyway thought I'd ask you guys whether "collagen" is natural/organic ?? and not likely to trigger health issues. I know it's not likely to kill me but I really have been trying to keep choosing healthy alternatives since I'm not doing chemo. Sure would hate to find out later that an ingredient was a "no no" and I was just too naive to know. DDD

Dixies_fire

Collagen will help the split ends or damaged parts, not totally sure if it is organic or not but I've never heard of any problems from topical application, ie not injected.

LittleDudesMom

Depends on your definition of "organic" If it means found in nature then it is organic. It is a protein found in the human body (and I think all mammals) mostly for the benefit of the connective tissues. The type of collagen that is used for injections could also be considered organic because it is harvested from cows. I heard on Doctor Radio (one of my favorite shows on my sirius satellite direct from New York Lancomb Medical Center) a while back that they are working on developing synthetic collagen but apparently it's difficult to reproduce in the lab. I guess the collagen in the shampoo would be animal based?

Sharon

DDD