When a friend doesnt want to hear a vent about difficult child

Jen

I have 3 good friends in my life. One I am just learning to connect with, so dont tell all. Another one that I have known most of my life that had no children, and is consumed right now with her diagnosis of MS, and another good friend that has her illnesses, issues with her older kids a little, that listens. She is the one that has me in a daper right now. I seem to forget that not always is she ready to listen, that then throws me a curve ball, and her not realizing that I dont want advice just a sounding board.

Like the rest of you sometimes there isnt any answeres to our issues, and sometimes we get rapped up in their problems no matter how old they get. She still doesnt get it from where I am coming at. She would tell the whole lot of us on an unexpected day.'Oh Jen you just have tyo get over it, quit enabling, let them lead their lives, and just aceept the way the the are". This is coming ffrom a women that hasnt experienced our troubles in the true sense, and still has her 27yo son living with her. Oh did I forget to mention she keeps telling me for the last yr how she is enforcing him moving out, but then gives him every excusse in the book. The mistakne difference btwn the 2 of us is I dont give her back any of the comments she gives me when the tables are turned. I listen maybe make a comment, but never say some of the wake up comments she gives me. Yet I must say her 2 boys havent given her the frieg that mine have.

Anyway, this last time this happened I decided to take a diff. approach I backed off from he, and the ohter firend with the MS. I wasited for them to call me, and when they did the conversation was very superficial. Unfortunately, it never crossed their minds as to why I was that way.