5 year old, possible adhd, destructive behavior...help!

asumama

Hello All!

I am new to the forum and am desperately in need of advice from those of you who have "been there done that."

My 5 year old stepson (6 in October) is destructive and a terrible influence on my 3 (4 in sept) year old daughter. I have my degree in family and human development, have worked in preschools, and am entirely clueless what to do! In the past week he has used a knife to cut up the underside of his box spring, tried lighting the dog's #2 on fire, broke his balloon and threw a kicking/screaming fit which prompted me to pull over the car and sit with him on the rocks until he could calm down (during that time he threw a rock at my car), and used scissors to cut a hole in our couch. I set my alarm for 6:00am so I can be awake before him, but both the fire and knife incidents occurred when he woke up before I did and didn't wake us (my 3 year old daughter was present during both incidents). His language is also something to be desired, he doesn't often use profanity but consistently says bad/nasty words, which naturally my 3 year old soaks up like a sponge.

We are pretty certain SS is ADHD, although he has not been diagnosed. I have tried treating his behavior holistically with healthy diet and vitamins/fish oil, ample exercise, and a structured environment, but nothing seems to work. My husband (who has joint custody, but is not biologically related to SS) has bipolar so routines can get a bit messed up when he's having an hard time.