Amazing breakthrough, wanted to share the trick

Farmwife

Long read but totally worth it!!!!

**Disclaimer** I am not an expert and do not play one on t.v. My difficult child's results may be atypical. Each difficult child responds to things in their own way and time.

History: My Dad is a psychologist, he specialized in kids when I was young. He had a system he learned in his training (I have no reference to site). He used the system on me when I was 5 and it was very effective. I just did a modified version for my 15 y.o. and had remarkable results.

What: A simple point system. There are + and - or for older kids merits and demerits. I assign point values to good behaviors like doing a certain chore, redirecting self after bad behavior, having a good attitude, being helpful etc. The bulk of it is based on daily chores. The demerits are based on negative things like outbursts, lies, inappropriate moodiness, poor grades etc.

Ie: dishwasher filled + 1 point
Room clean +1 point
Polite in morning before school + 1
Vs.
Leaving a mess somewhere in common areas (shared parts of house like living room) -1
Moody - 1
Outburst (raised voice, cursing) - 5

I added up how many points were possible to earn each day/week and assigned privileges. For my difficult child there are weekly rewards like picking a rental movie, monthly rewards like an item of clothing and long term goals such as earning the opportunity to get a drivers license.
I made it percentage based. Ie: if there are 100 points possible per week I expect 80% or 80 points to earn certain things. (it's like magazine fundraiser prizes, lol)