Geezloueez--Intro Post

SRL

(I'm copying your post to a thread of your own--it helps reponders keep the kiddos straight!)

Hi,
I'm new to this post. I found it because I am starting to suspect there is something more going on with my 3-yr-old son.
Your description sounds alot like mine so I'm wondering if we should get an evaluation as well.
Starting at about 18 months, my son became quite a handful. I have a 6-yr-old daughter who is sweet as can be so everyone kept talking about how different boys and girls are. I believe they are but maybe there is more to his behavior than just being a boy.
He has always been very demanding of attention. My husband stays home with him and is exhausted by the end of the day.
Most of the time he can keep himself occupied, playing and getting into things. This is normal to me. But, especially when tired, he will become extremely defiant when told no or asked/told to do something. He will hit me, not hard, more like a smack, even though told repeatedly and forcefully not to do this. I have to practically wrestle him to brush his teeth because he cannot stand the taste of the toothpaste. He will not take oral medication, we have to try to hide it and are usually not successful because he can tell. For several months, he would scream incessantly in the bathtub while getting a bath. I think he didnt like the smell of the soap. That has finally stopped and I can bathe him quietly now. He can throw terrible tantrums, screaming for over 15 minutes sometimes. He will not look at me when in one of his moods. But when he is happy, he is very loving, funny and very bright.
I, too, have scanned the disorder list looking for something that fits and either I am being overreactive and there isnt anything, or I havent found the one yet, or it is a combination of things that I am not qualified to diagnose.
Since I am new here, I havent scanned all of the posts but this forum seemed like a good place to start.
Does this sound familiar?

SRL