Good Morning Saturday

Marguerite

OK, I know it's early, but it's after 5 pm here, I need to get my evening chores done.

We've had a relaxing day here. difficult child 3 & I have been dog-sitting today, the same dog we minded for a week a few months ago, so she's used to us. Right now I can hear difficult child 3 giggling as he plays with her - she's a white terrier, part poodle. Very spoilt (in that she loves being around people, hates to be alone) but a lovely, gentle nature.

First day of Advent, so I made a Christmas wreath this morning, with difficult child 3's help. We have some weed of a plant which I call honeysuckle (it's not; this has a red/orange flower) and we cut some stems and made the wreath shape by tying them with string. When I was a little girl my mother would make wreaths out of bracken, and then wire camellia leaves into it to make the sort of wreath laid on cenotaphs. I often helped her, so I felt quite comfortable making this one. My mother would have thought it a bit ratty, though - tis one is sparse.
Then I got difficult child 3 to cut me some Christmas Bush from the western side, where it's fully coloured up. The eastern side (the side we can see from the back window) still has some white flowers not fully developed into the deep salmon-red.

Then we stuck Christmas Bush all around the wreath and it's now hanging on the front door. I found some red/green Kangaroo Paw and put that in as well, but there's not much of that this year, the honeysuckle and wisteria have swamped it all. The backyard is a jungle.
Time to get out the advent calendar. difficult child 3 loves opening the little doors. I don't like to cover up my favourite George Meis calendar of the Greek Islands. I love his photography, especially Santorini.

Whatever faith you are, in whatever way you celebrate this time of the year - I hope it will be joyous and peaceful for you and your family.