GRRRRRRR! Update on Jessie

susiestar

Roll With It
I am putting this update here after the last post was moved here. If it should be in watercooler please move it.

Jessie's shaking is not better. The neurologist finally rx'd lorazepam (ativan) to be taken ever 4-6 hours.

NO WHERE does it say that she should only take 2 tablets a day. No. Where.

I called to get a refill for a month's worth because it is helping. Got a HUGE rant from the doctor about people wanting their kids to get addicted.

I stood up and said "Wait a minute here! The ONLY reason I said that 30 pills are not enough is because YOU told me, and wrote on the prescription, that she should take it every 4-6 hours. NOWHERE did YOU put that she should only take 1-2 doses a day.

I am NOT a doctor. I ASKED you about medications. I did NOT tell you what to prescribe. This medication HELPS. It is the first one we have used that seems to lessen the intensity of the shaking."

He did not want to listen. He is actually being a real jerk about it. HE didn't find a quick answer so he doesn't want to handle it.

We have added a banana a day to her diet. Mandatory. She isn't fond of bananas but they are helping some. They seem to have stopped having every muscle that even her clothes touch turn to iron. Late at night several times she has had her muscles just turn to iron anywhere seh was touched. I felt it happen when I lightly touched her arm with my hand. The kind of touch she would not have normally registered.

At least the bananas are working for that, for now.

She sees the endocrinologist on Nov 18. I have no idea how we will make it that long. We may end up with emergency room trips, I just don't know.

I wish her docs would worry more about getting the pain under control than about addiction. While I do NOT want her to be addicted, I do think the docs are not aware enough of how painful this is.