Have u had success with- cub scouts & difficult child?

lovemychocolate

I think team sports are out for difficult child. I'll sign difficult child up for golf this spring, but for now, I had been contemplating cub scouts for the boy activities. We've been to several meetings and difficult child has actually enjoyed being around other boys. He hasn't wanted to participate in all the activities, but has enjoyed some. The other night some of the boys were getting some patches and difficult child got upset that he wasn't getting any and wanted to leave--we did, but really only becasue it was late and he was tired and I wanted to head off a potential melt-down.

I'm wondering if other mom's have had any "luck" matching an ODD difficult child with- cub scouts? I'm really new to scouts, but I'm thrilled with the all boy aspect of it. I'm still feeling the whole thing out and am on the fence right now.

trinityroyal

My difficult child had a great time in cub scouts, and fared very successfully. However, husband signed on as a cub scout leader, and was with difficult child for every meeting, every jamboree, every cookout and camping trip.

Without husband's presence, I think it would have been a disaster.

difficult child has a severe case of attachment-dependent functioning with husband. In husband's presence, he can function at near-neurotypical levels for many tasks and activities. Without husband there to act as his rock and centre-point, he's a mess.

Just my experience. Hope the information helps.

Trinity

susiestar

Roll With It
My difficult child caused all sorts of confusion for his 1st grade troop leader. His wife was a friend and was so scared I would be mad when they called to tell me he was REALLY out of line (rolling around on the floor yelling "I will not be an automaton and you can't make me!" while the boys were learning the Boy Scout Motto and what have you. - I can ROFL at it NOW, but then it was mortifying!)