How old are you?

Andy

Today I was helping a kindergarten boy put his shoes back on after dumping the playground pebbles out of them. As with most shoes, these had laces a mile long requiring a double knot (and easily a triple if I wanted to go that far).

A kindergarten girl was sitting next to him. I stated, "When I grow up, I am going to invent shoe laces that are not so long." The girl looked at me a little quizzical and asked, "How old are you?"

I replied, "47, do you think I am old enough to invent them?" She looked at me and slightly bobbed her head "yeah".

I am a kindergarten teacher and that is why I love that age. You never know what they are going to say or how they will say it. I always tell them I am 29 and they believe me!

Shari

IsItFridayYet?
I love that age! They're so....innocent!

Despite all of wee difficult child's problems at school, when he struggles and succeeds and pulls himself together in the room, there will undoubtedly be 10 or 12 little classmates who will tell him "great job, difficult child!" or "see, you did it!". They amaze me.

Gotta love it.

K

Kjs

That's cute.

Saturday was my birthday. A neighbor lady came over with cookies and said, happy birthday.....56? I quietly said thank you, ....47.

Andy

KJS - How cool is that? My birthday was also Saturday! difficult child was the only one who asked my age. When anyone else asks, I usually reply, "Still 3 minutes older than A (my twin sister)."

(I also turned 47 so we really are triplets)

M

ML

How cute. I say that all the time "when I grow up_______". Age is a state of mind (coming from another 47er).

Hugs,

ML

Star*

call 911........call 911
When Dude was in third grade - he told the teachers I was 21. Which means I could have given birth at 14. Every time I showed up at the school I got the sneers and whispers behind hands from other teachers. NEVER figured it out.