How to find help??

justour2boys

Momto2Boys
I'm a newbie, but have been lurking for some time. Reading many of your posts have helped me realize I need to seek more help for my oldest difficult child, and hope this will in turn help me. Everything is a fight!

My "Mother" powers of diagnosis suspect Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD), ODD and dsylexia (sp?). He has had educational testing in the past and we have ruled out ADHD but he does have a diagnosis of Auditory Processing Disorders (APD) (auditory processing disorder). He has a 504 plan and is just hanging on at grade level... but I know there is more.

So here is my question... I know I need to start with a neuropsychologist evaluation, but how do I go about finding the right dr?

I have tried our local childrens hospital and they don't do them anymore ?!? And my difficult child's pediatrician is no help... doesn't give recommendations.

Where do I turn??? Local psychiatric hospital? Any professional organizations? Yellow Pages? Web?

What should I be looking for... what questions should I be asking?

And direction you can offer would be helpful!

thanks

AnnieO

Shooting from the Hip
If your local children's hospital doesn't have a neuropsychologist, I'd find the next largest one up the chain. However we had to dig a bit - best thing is to call the hospital and ask for psychiatry and then ask THEM about it. So the local one might, it's a question of who you get on the phone!

That said, our closest kids' hospital doesn't have a decent psychiatric dept so we went to the next big city. ;) And they're great.

I had my difficult child evaluated by someone with 30 years experience. He did it one hour at a time. I got referral from her psychiatrist.
I had her on the list at the local university teaching hospital for neurupsych exam:it took about over 3 months just to get an appointment. She ended up never showing up.