new here-forgot to introduce myself (and really need some suggestions!!)

reallytrying

Hello-
I am the mom of two beautiful daughters, ages 6 and 8. My husband and I have had a rough time with the youngest one and we were recently old she probably had ODD and ADHD. I posted about our history with her--and it made me realize just how weary I am of it. I feel like it's my fault, I'm pretty sure I have ODD tendencies and I do take medications for ADD and depression. She had GERD and cried so much as a baby. Also, I graduated from college a few years ago, and I feel like I could have been more attentive, but had papers to write and tests to study for. Because she has been so difficult and we have been so stressed, our 8 yr-old has some resentment issues (and I really don't blame her).

Recently, we started the 6 yr-old on lowest dose of Focalin, and it seemed to make a difference in her being able to focus on getting control over her behavior. She hasn't hurt the older one since she started taking the medications-the older one has scars on her arms and legs from scratches :(

Our little one has tried to jump out of our car on the interstate hwy, gotten out of her carseat (she's like Hudini) and attacked me while I'm driving, cursed me out, destroyed parts of our house, and told us she wants us to die. She does things to irritate us, but tells us she's really not doing it--and has no tolerance for us. She's got all of the characteristics of ODD. I've even noticed that when she notices that her behavior is getting better, she does something mean. She's so manipulative that sometimes I want to run away! And I'm no shrinking violet! I regularly have to remind myself that I'm the mom and that I can do this.

I have dealt with defiance and bipolar disorder, and other mood issues with my students at school, but my students were older and I only had them for the school day.