Newbie in need of support

scarpetta1234

Hello all! I must first say that I have never done this before. Today, however, i am at my witts end! It is so refreshing to find a place where it is ok to say "I've had it" and I am not sure if I can take any more of this." My ADHD GFGson has me peering over the ledge. He is 16 and he has been a prayerful struggle since preschool. He has finally gotten expelled from school and now I am looking into alternatives to educate this extremely smart kid who has no social skills what-so-ever. He is truely a loving kid but he lies like nobody's business and I have little hope that it will ever change. Some days I just want him grown and out of the house!!! Then I feel sooo guilty and selfish for thinking that way. Some days I just wish he was "normal"..for his own sake not to mention mine. I am sooooo tired and no one I know truely understands this struggle. I am remarried and his father either wants custody or no help at all. My new husband (4 months!!) is so patient and kind to both of us. Some days though.........It is getting harder to cope. Desperate for a little understanding! Thanks for listening!

smallworld

Welcome! I'm glad you found us, but sorry you needed to.

Would you be able to provide some more details so we get a fuller picture of what's going on?

For example, what did he do to get expelled from school?
Did he have an IEP?
Are you satisfied with his diagnosis? Is it possible something beyond ADHD is going on?
Has he ever had a thorough evaluation with a neuropsychologist?

I hope your answers will help us point you in the right direction.

Hang in there. You will find a lot of support here.

BusynMember

Hi and welcome to the board.