ChristieR

My husband feels im over medicated.
I take 300 mg Lithium in the am and 600 mg in the pm
15 mg Abilify,
40 mg prozac,
1 mg xanax 3 x day,
and 15 mg remeron

Does this seem like too much for someone with Bipolar?
I get tired really early and go to sleep when my kids do, which is not me at all. My husband says Im larthargic a lot of the time. Also, I am still having episodes. I go to my Dr. on Thursday but I wanted some opinions.
Thanks

klmno

I have no idea, but I just read your other post and thought, "wow, that is a lot of medications". Have you gotten a second opinion from another psychiatrist lately? I wouldn't reduce dosages, but maybe a talk with another psychiatrist might lead to changing medications that help without having to take so many different kinds. Just a thought- I'm new to the BiPolar (BP) medications so I really don't know.

smallworld

You need to get a blood draw to check if your Lithium level is in the therapeutic window for bipolar (0.8 to 1.2). You should also have your thyroid checked because Lithium is notorious for destroying thyroids, which could account for why you're so tired.

Furthermore, Lithium, Abilify, Remeron and Xanax all have fatigue as a side effect. That could definitely be contributing to your sleepiness.

Both Prozac and Remeron are antidepressants, which can cause BPers to become disinhibited, agitated, aggressive and manic. I think you should ask your psychiatrist why you need to be on them since they could be destabilizing your mood.

Is your psychiatrist experienced with medicating adults with bipolar?

ChristieR

I am depressed most of the time so i think that is why im on so many antidepressents. Im just confused of why i still feel so crappy

Aw, Christie. Big hugs and welcome to the board.

It is not fun being depressed. Everything hurts. Your mind hurts so bad that your body starts to hurt. I am so sorry.