This Is Just Ridiculous!!!

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
I don't know how many of you have/or know of Aldi food stores. But they're a generic type store where you bag your own food and such and save a ton of money on mostly generic brands, and even some name brands. Their food/products were always good too.

Well, husband and I make the special trip to Aldi's. For us it's a 20 min drive to another town. But usually worth it in the vast amt of money saved on groceries.

Ten mins in the store and I was furious.

Their prices have jumped and are now more expensive than wallie world and Kroger's!! I couldn't believe it. I've been shopping at Aldi's for the past 20 yrs and paying at least half of what you'd pay at a normal supermarket for groceries. This place has enabled my family to eat well when we barely had money for food.

Now I know food prices are jumping up. But what's the point of a store like this if their prices aren't even competing with the main supermarkets?? grrrr.

So husband and I wasted all that gas cuz I walked right out of the store, drove back to town, went to wallie world and kroger and got 2 huge cart loads of groceries for 152.00.

Now I know why the store's parking lot was nearly empty on a sat at noon. (usually you stand in line for an hour)

husband and I'll save money on gas and do our shopping where it's cheaper here in town. It's just a real bummer when a store you counted on, that saw you thru some awfully tough times, suddenly isn't there to be counted on anymore. :frown:

Lothlorien

Two grocery carts full for $152? one grocery cart here is around $200 to $300. Gone are the days where our bill is $152.

There are Aldi Stores here, but I don't go because they don't generally carry the organic stuff or the stuff without colorings and corn syrups.

mrscatinthehat

Seussical