thoughts on switching to a school for ADHD/Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD)/ODD kids

C

cboz

Our difficult child has been in mainstream public school all along (he's in 2nd grade now). He has always been challenging, but with our current medication bonk, he's now very unpredictable and volatile. I'm wondering if he's getting worse because the kids at his school are now aware of his explosive behavior, and I imagine there's some degree of "egging on". Here in Ohio we have a "chain" of charter schools called Summit Academy that caters to kids with issues. Part of me thinks it would be a good fit for our son, but I also love the school he goes to (they really work with us when difficult child is raging) and would like to see him work to adapt once again to a regular classroom environment. I am a teacher, as is husband, and we feel good about the things going on in his current school. However, I am fearful that he is really going to hurt another child if we can't get things under control soon. I would imagine that at the charter school, this type of behavior is almost expected, whereas he is a real anomaly at his current school.

Any thoughts? Thank you!

slsh

member since 1999