anyone garden??

Jena

hi

so tmrw. i'm going to work on this huge patch of dirt we have outside our living room window it's pretty big. it gets partial sun, yet mostly shade. i was going to get some bushes yet priced them and their insanely expensive. so i figured for now id' fill it with a few small plants that are like bushes hard to explain yet alot less expensive..... and perinnials....

anyone know of any good bright ones i can plant that work well in mostly shaded areas?? i've made this my new project to redirect my mind.

theres this great guy locally that sells flowers outside his home when he prunes and trims his own trees. yet he's not like home depot he wont give info just names are on plants their like only 5 bucks each.

figured ipod on tmrw and planting than a nice dinner alone is my plan :)

i'm retarded when it comes to planting i'm new at it. never had a house so this gardening thing is new for me! my perinnials from last year came up though that was kinda cool

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
Mums are pretty hardy and fairly cheap. They do well just about anywhere or have for me. Just cut them back once they stop blooming in late fall. (although I've skipped it and not had an issue)

If the plot is close to the house be careful of some bushes as they can mess up water pipes and such due to root growth.

witzend

Google "partial shade perennial" to find what will work best for you. If you have an idea of what type of soil you have, all the better. If it's right up against the house you may be getting more warmth than you think, so be sure that you get something hardy enough to go without a lot of water - especially if it gets any Southern exposure. It's probably a good spot for Hydrangeas, Dahlia's, Ornamental Grass, Columbine, Lilies, Crocosmia, standing Fuchsia. Lots of good plants for what you are thinking of.

timer lady

Queen of Hearts