cortneyscarbs

Ok I am totally new to this. And seriously, I think I am going crazy! lol My difficult child was diagnosis as ODD just yesterday, and finally things are starting to make sense. We couldn't figure out why she was hitting kids at school, and picking on my easy child, lying about anything.... I was really starting to think that her behavior was somehow my fault. (I recently left my dex while she was living with her grandmother, and when she came home there was a new man, a new baby on the way, a move, and a new school.) But now I know different. At least now I know that her constant behavior issues have a real cause, this is somewhat helping me today when trying to deal with her..but my main concern is she knows exactly how to push my buttons. I was wondering if anyone had any tips on keeping your cool? Weblinks, books, anything would be really helpful! Also I have read that new parenting approaches can be helpful, but I am not sure where to look...I am soooooooo glad I found this site late last night! Thank you all in advance!:D

BusynMember

Hi and welcome. You have a lot of company. You may want to purchase the book "The Explosive Child" by Ross Greene.
I'm going to ask a few questions that will help us help you. First of all, I'd say the majority of us do not believe that ODD travels alone. With your history of bipolar disorder, I think you need to keep an eye on your child for possible early onset bipolar, which has a large ODD component and can look a lot like uber-ADHD too. I have a link for early onset bipolar if you want to check it out. I also have an online test for autistic spectrum disorder. whenever there is a speech delay and defiance it is a good idea to look into that even if a therapist may have missed it (which is common). Frankly, from my own experience with my son, your child sounds a lot like he may be on the spectrum.

http://www.childbrain.com/pddassess.html (Pervasive Developmental Disorder (PDD) test)