JustExhausted30

Is it really possible for a 12 (almost 13) year old to have a full blown panic attack? My son for the last 2 nights right around 9pm starts complaining of right sided chest pain, inability to catch breath and just starts pacing almost. If I get up he jumps up and asks where am I going and why. He begged me to take him to the ER last night but being a cardiac nurse I knew that this is not "true" cardiac type chest pain. However with all the stories of these young people just dropping dead I am starting to question whether I made the right decision to not take him. But then also being this only happens around 9 every night.... oh I just don't know.
He has been diagnosis with ADHD and takes Vyvanse 70mg for that and bipolar and takes Seroquel for that; 50 mg at 7am and 3pm and then 900 mg at 7pm.
If anybody has had any experience with this please reply. I am so scared for him and if these really are panic attacks I need to find out what has happened in the last few days to spark this.
Thank you for any info you may have,
Jenn

klmno

Yes, it is. But given the diagnosis's and medications, there is a good chance that something else is going on. I would talk with the psychiatrist ASAP, if it were me. I'm in a hurry so don't have much time- others will have more thoughts, experience and advice. Hang in there!!

F

flutterbee

Yes, it is possible. My daughter was diagnosis'd with panic disorder at age 11, but she had been suffering from it for much longer. Anxiety is commonly comorbid with bipolar disorder. I see he's not on a mood stabilizer. Seroquel is an atypical antipsychotic not a mood stabilizer.

I would definitely address the panic attacks with the psychiatrist.

smallworld

Like any stimulant, Vyvanse can have cardiac side effects. I always believe in ruling out physical causes before turning to psychological causes. You should have him checked out to make sure there is nothing medically wrong.