Calif Wildfires

Marcie Mac

Just Plain Ole Tired
Jeeze, the devistation in Malibu (again), not to mention the various other areas that are burning.

For the LIFE of me, I don't understand why you would fork out a couple of mother in law for a house in a brush area and not protect it as much as possible.

As an insurance broker, I cannot tell you the number of times I have had houses inspected only to find eucalyptis (sp) trees, palm trees, pine trees right next to the house, brush right up to the door. Trying to get them to plant the hillside with plants that are not oil based, to seal the eaves under the roof, (a really favorite place for embers to find after floating in the air for a few miles) cut back the trees is like asking them to sell one of their children. Won't replace the wood shake roofs. They don't want to fork out money for a pool pump so they can use the pool water in case of emergency. I have been thru enough fires to know that there is NOT an unending supply of water when you are fighting a big brush fire, in fact you have very little water when the same water source is tapped from various places.

All of these fires except one I think are arson.

Marcie

DammitJanet

Why on earth would someone put an accelerant right next to your house? Thats like sitting with a bunch of full gas cans around your house waiting for someone to toss a match...lol.

As dry as it is out there and with all those fires, I would be clearing my lot way back and having my house as fire safe as possible. Think cinder blocks, metal studs and metal roof...lol. Might not be quite as pretty but it wont burn as easy...lmao.

Abbey

Spork Queen
Marcie...I hate to say it (throwing stones at me is ok) but I feel the same way about people who build a house RIGHT on the coastline. I lived 11 years in Florida and knew more than one person who had the beautiful beachside house and rebuilt it more than once from hurricanes. This affects us all hugely on insurance rates.