difficult child Behavior?

My daughter is 3, and like others out there, I'm questioning if her behavior is normal for her age or maybe something else. For full self-disclosure, I'm a graduate student studying school and early chidlhood psychology, and the more I study the more I convince myself my kids have whatever disorder we may be studying that week.

Just a few minutes ago, we were drawing at our table. I tell her that we share, she gets up from the table and tries to take her colors with her. I tell her no, she leaves them on the table, and if her sister wants to use them, she may. 3 year old gets up from the table, throws her paper down, and runs to her room and shuts the door. This is pretty common, once or twice a week type of behavior.

The new thing is, I followed her to her room, she got on her bed, took her jewelry box, which is probably her most treasured possession, and threw it at the wall. It didn't break, but this was something I hadn't seen before. Generally, when she gets mad, she runs to her room and shuts the door, cries, and then comes out. This is the first time she's thrown something, and the fact that it was something that she loves has me concerned.

Last edited:

Sara PA

Didn't anyone warn you that you -- or in this case, your children -- would fit the diagnosis of every disorder you studied when you take psychology courses. Happens to medical students, too. Pretty normal.

tiredmommy

Hello & welcome. :) Hopefully what Sara said is the case with your child, but most of us have learned to trust our instincts regarding our children. It's very difficult to get a clear picture of a child at such a young age. Many symptoms overlap between disorders and what is a symptom at one age may be behaviorally normal at a different age.