Intro post for Maureen

tiredmommy

Please give Maureen a warm welcome, her is her intro from a different thread:

Hi this is my first time on the forum, just came across it.. My daughter is 12 years old, she is suffering from anxiety it started out as separation anxiety from me she was afraid while she wasn't me I would be hurt or die. The anxiety has escalated to the point where she is not able to get into school, her dr. has now diagnosed her with generalized anxiety, sep anx and school phobia. SHe goes to therapy two days a week and is on paxil klonopin and risperdal... her school is now saying they can't educate her and she needs a therapuetic school setting. THis girl was completely normal had a great personality etc. until 4.5 months ago. Our life as we knew it is no longer... she now has behavior issues which now I am not sure if it is the medications or not. My question is has anybody else dealt with this type of illness? I am taking her in the morning to have accupunctre done as nothing else seems to be working. Thank you for any information.

Maureen, about your daughter....
What happened 4.5 months ago?
Has she always struggled?

RobinD

Welcome Maureen! I am Robin from Wisconsin mom of 2 difficult child who can be a bit handful. There diagnosis's and medications are in my signature. Hope to get to know you on the board.

Welcome aboard!

daralex

Clinging onto my sanity
Hi Maureen!
Did something happen 4.5 months ago that could have triggered this? I understand the thought of her being in a therapuetical setting may be scary to you - but she needs all the help she can get right now. I don't have a lot of experience with anxiety except when mine was really little. I can imagine how heart breaking the whole thing has been for you ((HUGS)) but getting her into the proper setting sounds like a good idea right now for both of you.
-Dara

slsh

member since 1999
Hi Maureen and welcome!