Looking for resource materials on Asperger's

Audrey

Since "little C" as we call difficult child now has a formal diagnosis of AS, I am trying to get my hands on as much information as possible. I have a few great books I'm reading as well as information from the neuropsychologist. I'm also a peds nurse with experience clinically with these kids, so I'm not totally in the dark. However, I have a few specifics I'd like help with.

We have 3 older kids. 13 yo son, 10 yo daughter and a 21 yo daughter. Oldest is out of state. The other two really love difficult child and know that he has Asperger's, but he frustrates them like crazy sometimes when he's being inappropriate during play time or when he just won't leave them alone if they are "done". They are also frustrated with the differences in how we talk to and discipline difficult child vs. what they experience from us. Any good reading material for kids that age that might help them understand this a little bit better?

Also, how/when do I let difficult child know that he has this thing called Asperger's? He knows there's something different about him because he has some stimulant toys in school with him and a helper aide with him sometimes. Right now he thinks he just has a problem controlling his body and touching other people.

Any pointers in the right direction would be most helpful!

We're going to have a family meeting (without difficult child) this weekend when husband is home to really talk to the other kids about ways that we can all work together to help difficult child with his social skills.

Sheila

Hi Audrey

As you likely know, Asperger's in on the Pervasive Development Disorder spectrum.

There's a ton of stuff on this site regarding Asperger's. Use the search function and be sure and check out the General Forum Archives threads.
Welcome aboard.

BusynMember