Medication for children with autism

Robson Cruz

Hi everybody, this is my first time on. I am 51 years old, stay home dad do to disability( Progressive Charcot-Marie-Tooth) and have a 12 years old child with autism. My son has become very aggressive since we took him out of risperdal. He gain a lot weight and my wife and I were very concerned with this situation so he doctor recommended another medication. Right now he is on Paxil20mg daily and Seroquel(100mg twice daily). He had blood test and Brain MRI and thank God everything is fine include his blood sugar level. He is now 172 lbs and 5'3'' height. I think Paxil has not help him at all and would like to know if I change it for Abilify combined with Seroquel would help him.It is anyone that going with the same problem can recommend it will good idea? Thank you.Robson

buddy

Hi there. So, did the risperdal work? I wonder why they put him on two medications not just a switch to Seroquel? Is he still gaining on the Seroquel? (that is in the same family as risperdal, right?) My son got really aggressive on both of those medications so we didn't have the same response you did-- at least for his aggression if I understand you. I know the fear of a child gaining too much...my son suddenly started gaining weight and it was unclear how much was medications and how much was a growth spurt...and of course mostly it is probably a combo. If you think the Paxil is not working, and especially if you are seeing any increase in aggression since adding Paxil, in my humble opinion ask the doctor if you can stop it. There are kids it works great for. there are many of us who have had kids who have more anxiety/anger/depression/aggression on these kinds of medications.