My daughter... When will it end?

MustangDad

Hello all. I'm posting here for the first time, though I have been lurking and reading this forum for over a year now. I apologize in advance if this gets long winded - I'll try to keep it short. I'm just so overwhelmed, and I have nobody to talk to. I've never done this type of thing before.

Anyway, I'm a single father to one child. my daughter is 24 years old. When she was 18 I found out that she had been using heroin intravenously. I sent her to rehab immediately, which she completed. She came home and did well for a while, and then relapsed. She continued this rehab/move home and do well/relapse/go back to rehab cycle for a few years. In that time, I enabled her fully, and honestly, I still do. I paid all her bills, her college tuition, her court fees and fines, and gave her money to use with, knowing in my heart that's what she was doing with it. Throughout all the time she used, though, she kept up appearances. She worked, went to school, acted like a "normal" kid.

She got on methadone a couple of years ago (mid 2013) and hasn't used heroin since then, to my knowledge. She doesn't abuse her methadone and doesn't seem intoxicated from it. She's started graduate school and works full time. However, I feel like not much has changed on the money front. She is draining me, financially and emotionally. I'm still paying for her car insurance, cell phone bill, car payment, school fees, court fees and fines... It never ends. I've cashed out my savings and retirement, sold a time share and numerous other things to pay for her different treatments and bills over the years, and she's tried everything - suboxone, vivitrol, AA, NA, holistic rehab, strict rehab, rapid detox... And the list goes on.