Need help, quick

A

At_The_Brink

Can the courts or whatever terminate a parents rights without telling you or having you sign something?

timer lady

Queen of Hearts
Hi & welcome. Sounds like you have a great deal going on in your life if someone is talking TPR.

Generally, a parent has a great deal of warning & services to help "a family at risk" before termination of parental rights is discussed.

Knowing little about what is going on that is really all I can offer.

Good luck.

house of cards

I believe they can if the parent hasn't been able to be contacted for a lengthy time and they have posted information in newspapers and can show the courts that they made every effort to find the parents.
If the parent has been in contact with the child I think they would need to be notified of the court date and be provided with a lawyer if they couldn't afford one, but I'm not a lawyer so don't quote me.

slsh

member since 1999
I would think there would need to be some formal notification to parents. However, if the safety of the child were in question.... I don't know.

Without question, the parents need to get an attorney.

BusynMember

My son's birthmother's rights were terminated, but she had to be notified and offered help for her addiction and they had to try to unify. She was not interested. Why not tell us more? Based on the little you told us, we can't really be of much help...

A

At_The_Brink