Sick of the same battles

flutterby

Fly away!
difficult child cut out the Remeron and now she's melting down. She needs two AD's to manage her anxiety.

I'm so sick of fighting her on this. She did the same thing with the Trazadone. Doing well, cuts one out, then wham. And then she expects me to sit up with her all night and do her angst thing. After the psychiatric hospital she told me she needed a parent, not a doctor (she said I'm just a doctor in this house), so I'm being the parent and telling her she has to take the Remeron and she tells me she needs a "supportive" parent. I have been extremely supportive.

I put the pill on the table with a bottle of water and she refused to take it, so I refuse to listen to her angst and sent her to her room (which is where she should be anyway - sleeping, which is why she is supposed to be on Remeron in the first place, in addition to helping with anxiety).

And my sleeping medications were just kicking in when she started, and this episode put a kabosh on it.

susiestar

Roll With It
I'm sorry. I know how frustrating it is when your sleeping medications are just starting to work and then you get dragged fully awake and then cannot get to sleep and cannot take more medications. Grrrrr....

WHY did she cut the medications out? What does she want to happen, more misery and angst and ???? Are the medications making her feel strange?

I am glad you refused to listen to her angst. I think that is a good way to handle it right now. What are you prepared to take away if she refuses to take her medications? To give if she takes them?

Part of it should be NO sympathy or middle of the night help for her angst and anxiety. It seems harsh, but she knows how to help. Refusing to help yourself is just not OK when the problem interferes in your life the way her anxiety does.