Why Must I Make Modifications for a Child? It Seems Unfair to Other Children

Sheila

From http://www.wrightslaw.com/howey/tchr.mods.unfair.htm . Use the url to access the internal links.

Why Must I Make Modifications for a Child? It Seems Unfair to Other Children
by Pat Howey, Advocate

Question: I am a regular education teacher. I was told that I must make modifications for a child who does not have an IEP or 504 plan. Must I make modifications for this child? It does not seem fair to make modifications for one child and not the others. What does the law say?

Pat's Answer: The law does not require you to make modifications for a child who does not have an IEP or a 504. However, teachers make modifications for children all the time. Is it “fair” to:

• Give children the opportunity to earn passing grades by allowing them to do work for extra credit?

• Help children after school because they need extra assistance?

• Give a passing grade to a child who is trying very hard but is not earning one?

• Send assignments to a child who is at home sick or in the hospital?

• Let a child turn in an assignment late because the child was absent from school for a grandparent’s funeral?

• Let a child who uses a wheelchair participate in an another activity while other children must run laps?

Modifications Level the Playing Field

These are all very common modifications. Teachers make them every day. Are these modifications “fair?”

Isn’t it true that these modifications only level the playing field for children who get a bad hand of cards? They do not provide unfair advantages. Life deals our hands from the same deck. Some of us get aces; others get deuces.

Public education is not a poker game. Public education prepares children for life.

Modifications on the Job

As adults, do we question these job modifications?

• Teachers use paraprofessionals and aides to help in the classroom.

• Executives use secretaries to help with daily duties.