HUGE hot button for me

mstang67chic

Going Green
Monday morning there was a very tragic accident in this area. A car with 5 teens in it was T-Boned and the driver, a 17 year old pregnant girl was killed. The other 4 (her siblings) are all in the hospital as is the driver of the other vehicle. Generally I don't watch the news but get most of my information from various news web sites. While scanning one of our local station's web site, I read the article and noticed the picture that was posted with it. It's a shot of the car containing the kids with emergency crew members surrounding it. They are clearly still working to get the driver out. How can I tell?

Because her ARM is clearly visible, draped over the steering wheel.

I hate, hate, hate, hate, HATE these kinds of pictures and don't understand why they are printed/shown/posted. I've got some personal experiences with this kind of thing but even before those times, I've never seen the need for this kind of thing. I can't imagine being her parents and seeing this.

I had to wait a couple of days to calm down a bit but tonight I fired off a letter to the station. I basically said they were callous, inappropriate, crossed one heck of a line and showed absolutely no regard or compassion for this poor girl and her family. I doubt that it will accomplish a single thing but I hope that at least one person feels some guilt and shame over it.

Jena

Good for you! I totally agree when it comes to that type of ridiculous "journalism" is it what they call it??

Shari

IsItFridayYet?
I totally agree. DEX was an EMT and one of the HUGE things I disliked about him was how he seemed to use it to glorify himself - down to gory details about a crash. Those "victims" are people, with lives - how must that kind of stuff feel....oh...I'm with you. I'd boycott that paper for a while, at least. Maybe a letter to the editor stating so.

KTMom91