Newbie here

olemissreb85

I just found this site tonight. I'm hoping you all will be able to help me.

My 11yo son (will be 12 in 2 weeks) was just diagnosed with ADD. He is currently on Concerta (56mg) and seems to be doing well. His pediatrician said there may also be some ODD. He has been through a total psycho-ed evaluation and we should be getting the report on that early next week. After reading the symptoms of ODD, I'm pretty convinced that is what he has in addition to ADD. Is there a book or something I can read to help me help my son? We are seeing a family counselor, but insurance isn't paying for anything and it's getting pretty expensive.

The private school that my son goes to has basically kicked him out until they get the results of his evaluation. Would the school still be able to educate my son if he is diagnosed with ODD or would he be better off in a public school?

As a newbie, could you please explain what some of the abbreviations are? difficult child???

Thank you for your help.

Indianamomof4

Honestly, I think his private education is likely great academically, but a good public school is too. In addition, public schools have a lot more programs, I think, for kids with needs than private schools who just don't have the funding.

I recommend anything by Dr. Greene... I've already found so much of his work helpful and I'm fairly new too. Read the FAQ's on the board, it helps with the abbreviations. difficult child is your Gift from God, AKA your "problem child" :laugh:

AllStressedOut

I recommend "The Explosive Child" by Ross Greene, the author suggested above.

The benefit I see in public school vs. private school is that they have to educate your child, ODD, ADD or otherwise. So kicking him out without another option that they come up with, doesn't fly. This is a benefit when dealing with our difficult children and their behavior issues.

When you say he had a complete evaluation, who did the evaluation for him?