Struggling with so many things..

dashcat

For those who don't know my history, I'm fairly new to the world of difficult children. My daughter was a easy child until about 12, and the difficult child stuff cam slowly until it peaked around age 18. She will be 20 next week.

She left college (a small, private college in VA) 3 /4 through her freshman year to live with a guy she met on the internet ... in North Carolina. We are in Ohio and we managed to get her back here with the promise she'd get a job, pay rent, etc.

She's had three jobs (all pt) since then and got fired for the most recent. It's sketchy as to why - she received a letter from loss prevention ( major retailer) outlining what she owed and the promisory not she'd signed. She has her dad buffaloed as to the "unfairness" of the accasations ... she says she was scanning coupons wrong ... right.

Her sexual behavior is out of control ... she is in debt up to her ears.. I am positviely sick about the turn she has chosen to take with her life, but powerless to change it.

Ostirich dad enables her. She is not speaking to me (for over a week) because she doesn't want to hear what I have to say about her situation....

It's all so sad. I just needed to vent.

Dash

DammitJanet

There probably isnt much you can say to here really. Good news is that if she wasnt a difficult child before she turned into a teen then she will probably grow out of this in the not so distant future. Some rather learned psychiatrists call this adolescent psychosis. Its basically when normally sane kids go stupid but you really cant figure out what it is. Of course, by the time they hit about 23 -25, they turn back into normal people again.

Hound dog

Nana's are Beautiful
Janet is right.

I know her behavior is difficult child right now, but since she was a easy child before this all started, chances are she'll eventually snap out of it. Even many difficult children eventually come to their senses.