Experience with Strattera??

OneDayataTime

I'm a newbie...just registered. My difficult child (age 7) was diagnosed with Early Onset BiPolar a year ago. New therapist now (prev. one resigned) and now having weaned him off medications (NIGHTMARE!) he's been re-diagnosed with ADHD and ODD. We've started him on Strattera and are SO anxious for it to "kick-in". Can anyone give encouragment or positive feedback about Strattera? He's having suicidal thoughts and utterings during his "rages". So hard to deal with. Absolutely no way to rationalize or reason with him. Help?

smallworld

Welcome!

Suicidal thoughts and utterings during "rages" are not consistent with a diagnosis of ADHD/ODD. What makes the new therapist think he has the right diagnosis? It sounds to me as if there's a lot more going on than ADHD.

Strattera is an antidepressant used for the treatment of ADHD. We didn't have luck with it, but my son's diagnosis has changed from ADHD/anxiety to Mood Disorder. Strattera can make kids with mood disorders much worse.

Sorry you're struggling. Has your son seen a child psychiatrist or had an evaluation with a neuropsychologist?

OneDayataTime

Thanks....yes, he's seen a psychiatrist...he's choosing to diagnosis with ADHD/ODD because he's not convinced that he is truly bi-polar. He said the diagnosis may change over time and as we get a clearer picture. We saw great results with Risperdal (he was on that for bi-polar for the last year) but it's such a "strong" (for lack of a better word) drug...that we're trying to see if something else may work. My impression of Strattera is that it can take 3-6 weeks to see improvement....let's cross our fingers.

Off to work. Check again later today.

=)

smallworld

What other medications have been trialed? What was your difficult child's response to them?