Finding a ward of the court or?

Searching in OR

Hello All,
This is my first time here so be gentle. I have recently found out that I have/had a brother who was "surrendered" to the State of California (probably San Diego). I have very little details except that he became "unmanageable" by my parents and the gave him up. My mother has passed away and I am not on speaking terms with our abusive father (one of the reasons I suspect my brother became unmanageable). I know birth year, birth place, and then the bit about surrendering him in CA. My father was in the military, so not sure if it was a state hospital or "facility". Any ideas on where to start, I am honetsly sick over this and desperate to find answers. I don't know if my brother truly had issues, but coming from an abusive home, I have no reason to believe he didn't. He was ten or eleven when they dropped him off. I was barely one or maybe not even born yet.

TerryJ2

If he's over 18, your chances are better.

How old is he now?

You could call soc svcs and offer to help, but since you're younger, it wouldn't really make sense ... others here will have better ideas.

Best of luck! I know this must be driving you crazy.

Searching in OR

Sorry about the gap in details. We are both adults now. He was born in 1959. It's a strange thing to be finding out so late in life, and my other sister thinks it might be a bad idea to go searching now, but my first reaction says he was acting out and running away because of his home situation. I know he could be anywhere, even dead or in prison, but I think I still have to try.

AnnieO

Shooting from the Hip
Do you know his birth name?

IF you do... You could search online, Google is good for some searches. You could also put an ad in the paper - a larger paper would be better than a small-town one.

Many records are sealed, so that could be very frustrating.

Good luck...

Mattsmom277