Info on Wheat (gluten free) diets

Guest
Well Straw.. You got me thinking.. My dad is having major problems with wheat. And I do better when I dont eat breads. So, I wonder if it will help my girl. Probley will. SO>>>>>>>> Here is a list I found that may help people.

What you can eat on a gluten-free or wheat-free diet

all cooking oils and fats
all dried fruit
all dried peas and beans
all fresh fruit and vegetables
all fresh meat and fish
all herbs
all pure spices
agar
ground almonds
arrow root
bicarbonate of soda
buckwheat flour
butter
carob flour
tinned unsweetened chestnut pureÉ
cheese
corn meal (maize)
cornflour (maize)
cream of tartar.
dried banana chips
eggs
flaked millet
flaked rice
ground and chopped nuts
lentils
maize and maize flour
milk
millet
pea flour
potato
polenta
pure rice noodles
quinnoa grain
rice
rice flour
ground rice
rice puffed cereal
sago flour
sesame seed
sorghum flour
sweet chestnut flour
tapioca flour
teff flour
tofu- soya curd
wild rice
yogurt ( except with cereal flavour)
yam flour
But note; soya products and buckwheat are often indigestible for people on wheat-free diets.



Black List:

Food ingredients to avoid. What you must not eat.



Wheat:
grain containing high levels of gluten.
Bulgar:
soaked and dried wheat.
Durum:
a type of wheat.
Strong flour, bread flour, brown flour, wholemeal flour, granary flour:
all made from wheat.
Oats:
contains some protein similar to wheat gluten but may not cause problems for all celiacs. Best avoided.
Barley:
contains some protein similar to wheat gluten.
Rye:
contains some protein similar to wheat gluten.
Triticale:
contains some protein similar to wheat gluten.
Spelt:
contains some protein similar to wheat gluten.
Semolina:
made from wheat.
Couscous:
made from wheat.
Pasta, macaroni, spaghetti:
made from wheat.
Baking powder:
may contain wheat flour.
Stock cubes and gravy cubes:
may contain wheat flour.
Mustard powder:
may contain wheat flour.
Soy sauce:
this is normally soya beans fermented with wheat flour.
Suet in packets:
may contain wheat flour to stop the suet sticking together.
Starch, Vegetable starch:
may be wheat starch.
Beer, stout, lager, wheat germ, vitamin E pills:
all made from wheat.
BEWARE,
Some brands of 'rice paper' are made using wheat flour.
BEWARE.
Sauce mixes, curry mixes, ice cream, packet and tinned soups, dried meals, gravy mixes, all may contain
wheat flour, and do not always declare it on the contents list!
BEWARE.
Some cloudy lemonade and ginger beer now contain wheat flour
BEWARE.
Some sweets are dusted with wheat flour to prevent them sticking.


------------------
Nancy
ODD/BIPOLAR/ADD Girl 6 1/2 yrs
Off All medications
On vitamin therapy,
Fav. Funny quote-"Yesterday I was a dog. Today I'm a dog. Tomorrow I'll probably
still be a dog. <Sigh!> There's so little hope for advancement."
- Snoopy
With Out GOD, my life would fall apart!!!!!




[This message has been edited by dogchopper (edited 11-28-1999).]
 

Guest
Dogchopper!

Thank you so much! It is great to have a list like this, because when you then start eliminating dairy, sugar, anti-candida stuff, you think, "Well, what can I serve?"

The list is a great timesaver so those of us don't have to look it up.

I also found out that grains can really cause many other problems, esp. with arthiritis and other conditions. Many people are sensitive to grains, but they do not know it because that is what we are so used to eating!
(I believe they will find that foods like these can contribute to autism & other developmental delays, also, in some suceptible people)

Thanks again!

Straw
 

Guest
Thanks....all of you. Goodness its is a task. I was just wondering about bread...wonder no more. Im printing the list as I type.

RIN

------------------
I am the mother of a 5 yo son diagnosed 8 months ago with ODD borderline ADHD. Just started taking Clonidine. Looking for help anywhere and everywhere.
 
Top