looking for some information

ciounoi

Hello everyone,

I am a new Special Education teacher with an interest in emotional and behavioral issues, so I sometimes browse this board! I was recently hired to teach science at a juvenile detention facility. I will be working with kids with mental health issues, suicidal ideation, drug/alcohol abuse, and past criminal records (including sex offenses). I'm working with grades 7-12.

From the posts I have read, I gather that many of you have some experience with this kind of environment. Is there any information you could give me?

Thanks,
ciounoi

JJJ

Be prepared to differentiate. You will likely have a child who should be in honors classes, one who is Learning Disability (LD) and one with cognitive impairment all in the same room. Present your material verbally and visually, have worksheets/handouts at multiple reading levels and 1 for non-readers. Hands on stuff is good but check with the guards before handing anything out (actually check a few days in advance because you don't want to be stuck without a plan if the guards say no).

Keep accurate records, not just of grades, but of what level each child is working at academically. Please send a report to the next teacher when a child is released or transferred.

For the most part, college is not in these boys future. Try and tie your lessons to the real world.

InsaneCdn

Expect more issues than they tell you about. Many of these kids will have undiagnosed issues - learning disabilities, various physical, mental and emotional issues, etc. And some of the labels they come with, may be inaccurate.

Keep an open mind. Reaching the "real person" is more important than covering a set agenda in the subject. If you can give them skills that enable them to learn... they will learn from you, but you have also prepared them to learn from others in the future.

DDD