Multi-Disciplinary evaluation and/or School System evaluation?

almostcrazy

Hello Everyone,

Since I am very new to all of this, could someone please explain what should be expected as far as testing with each of the types. I have called about 5 Children's Hospitals, and none of them could tell me anything about Multi-Disiciplinary Evaluations. I even explained what it was, and what I wanted done, and they didn't have a clue. Finally, someone at Vanderbilt Children's said it was a Multi-Factoral Evaluation, and it was done by the school system, not in a hospital setting.

Should both be done? How do you go about setting up a Multi?

Also, what will the testing be like with a neuropsychologist? Should I choose the neuropsychologist or neuropsychiatrist first? My insurance does not require a referral, so I am looking for the best place to start.

My difficult child is scheduled with a clinical psychologist for testing on the 11th. What can I expect there? Is it the same as any of the above?

Sorry, so many questions, but you guys can answer more in ten mintutes than I can get in hours on the phone.

Hugs to you all.

F

flutterbee

When you call the Children's Hospitals are you asking for the behavioral health unit when inquiring about the Multi-Disciplinary evaluation? The person answering the switchboard phone may not have any knowledge of it. Have you tried any University Hospitals?

We used a neuropsychologist. I'm not sure what a neuropsychiatrist does and I don't know of anyone on the board that has used one.