My evil side reared yesterday

Abbey

Spork Queen
I am 9 hours of bagger training out of 20. (I love this job!!) The manager was so impressed that I get out of the remainder of the training. Yep...I'm a rocket scientist.

I am also the only one who was bumped from the traditional 20 per week to a full 40. If I can do this for 3 weeks, I get benefits!!:happyguy:

This is where the evil part comes in.:devil:

Yesterday we had this exercise where they had two huge carts of groceries that we had to show how quickly and properly we could bag. There are 8 trainees, me tripling the age of anyone there. So the first kid goes up, starts his bagging, then the manager evaluates your speed and how efficiently you pack the proper things in the right kind of bag. As she evaluates, she hands the items whoever is closest and we put them back on the belt for the next person.

I noticed after the first kid that when they put them back, they put them in clusters. Soft things together, canned goods together, etc. So after the second person, I made a plan. :devil:I conviently stationed myself behind the manager so *I* put things back the belt. I mixed EVERYTHING up. Bread with canned goods, meat with cleaning products, yadda.

Fast forward to me being last, when I put the stuff on the belt I sorted it all. I was twice as fast and used less bags, which is huge with them. Ok, ok...I kind of felt bag sabotaging a bunch of 16 year olds, but hey, I couldn't contain myself.:embarrassed:

So today I start unattended bagging and tomorrow three straight 9 hour shifts. Next week checker training and then WATCH OUT OSHKOSH. DJ DEMO IS BACK!!:dance::dance:

Oh...the downside is I think I caught my manager's cold. Maybe that's payback.

Abbey

Last edited:

PonyGirl

Warrior Parent
You go, girl!! :bravo: And if any of those kids ask about your age? You just say, "I've eaten lots more birthday cake than you have!"

Peace