Nasty, nasty bruise.

Lothlorien

I got my lower leg caught and bruised it pretty severely. I put vaseline on the skin (once I could tolerate touch) to prevent the brusing coming to the skin (yes this does work, really well in fact). However, this was weeks ago. The bruise is under the skin and is very lumpy and itches.

Yeah, I work for an ortho, but hate calling him unless I have to.

Is that normal? It's not really painful, but it is really annoying. It's a little sore and there is some redness, but I'm not sure if that's just from me scratching at it.

gcvmom

Here we go again!
I had a bad bruise like that on my shin. Developed a similar itchy lumpiness, too. I found that if I massaged the lump, over time it broke up and blended with the rest of the tissue. I'm not a doctor, but I suspect it has something to do with residual blood products and collagen/granulation tissue sent to repair the site. It took mine over 6 months to heal, and 18 months later I still have a pink scar on the surface where the skin was abraded. Hope you heal quickly!

susiestar

Roll With It
It takes longer to heal as you grow older. I remember sunburns healing in a few days as a kid, ones with blisters in about a week. Now that I am an adult it takes a week or more for a mild sunburn to heal. Massage can help break up scar tissue etc... and mederma cream makes a huge difference in helping a scar heal. As it still hurts you may want to ask your doctor about it, just to be sure. One thing to be careful with is blood clots from any large injury. Read up on the symptoms to make sure you can tell if you are having a problem develop.

AnnieO

Shooting from the Hip
Sweetie, when Onyxx attacked me two years ago my Mom suggested baby aspirin (81 mg) once a day to help prevent clots. Have you done something like this? I don't know if it's too late to start or...

FWIW, I still have faint scars from that day.

Fran

Former desparate mom