New to board

teachergirl

Hi-

I'm new to the board. I'm a teacher who has a student with ODD in one of my classes. He's in 6th grade, has been in a "conduct class" in earlier years but is not any longer. I am looking for ways to help this young man. Everything is a struggle. He cannot accept anyone asking him or telling him to do anything at all. His response is to yell, argue and say very ugly, degrading things. Today he asked to go see his regular classroom teacher, that it was really important that he do so. He does not typically thank you to get out of class so I agreed to let him go but also literally had 10 other kids also asking for help with this or that at the same time so I asked him to write the hall pass saying _____ to Mrs. _______ and the date and I thought he was going to explode over that. He finally did it when he realized I was letting him do what he wanted to do. Most of the time I ignore much of his behavior as I have close to 40 other students in the class. I could easily spend every single moment trying to get this child on task or dealing with his inappropriate comments, arguing etc etc. I'm afraid he will eventually hurt someone. I don't really want to be that someone! His mom is not having much success with him at home either and is not supportive of our efforts at school to help the child. She does not allow the father much input (and he seems to have the most sense about the whole situation). The principal asked if I could handle him remaining in my class and I said yes. I've seen what happens in another class that would be an option and it's not pretty. The child has been given a notebook to write down his arguments instead of voicing them. This starts tomorrow. I'm not too sure that this is going to work because he absolutely hates to write (won't write a hall pass for himself).