Open houses targets for drug users

Nancy

In our area we have had a rash of prescription drugs being stolen from houses that are being sold. During open houses, drug thieves wait until the realtor is busy with another client and then they head for the bathroom medicine cabinet and even dresser drawers looking for drugs. In a recent case here the realtor observed the person just as he was closing the dresser drawer and she wrote down his license number and called the police. When the police contacted him he admitted to the theft and said he learned about this from his drug treatment program!!!

Be aware of this if you are selling your home. Make sure all drugs are locked up in a secure location.

Just another thing I'm sure my difficult child learned in her rehab program. She also learned about the detox kits available over the counter and how to use them. Not what I sent her to rehab for.

Nancy

DDD

I hadn't read or thought about Open Houses as a resource. When I was a Realtor all we worried about were weirdos that might be dangerous. The drug "wash" kits, however, I have known about for years...at least the ones for pot. There is a steady business at the health supply stores in our County. Over the past ten years I don't know how many empty boxes I have found. Sigh!

They learn alot at Rehab. A few learn the right lessons. The others learn system beaters. It's a gamble that many of us have felt it necessary to take. The one thing our gs did learn is about the damage and degree of addiction that comes with the heavy drugs. He stopped "dabbling" after rehab and actually expresses sincere compassion for many of his friends who pop pills, snort and inject. He has distanced himself somewhat from those "friends" but the pot smokers and the alcoholics are still on the agenda. So sad. DDD

svengandhi