Plz help someone

jessica1507

mommy needs help!
I am a single mother of 5 year old twins. My daughter has ADD. I know this with all of my heart. But, the doctor feels that right now, due to my sons behavioral problems, I should deal with him first. he has been expelled from 3 daycares. They just started a summer school program called getting read for kindergarten. After finaly agreeing with his pediatrition on a letting him take a medication.(vivance) I thought things would get better. And they have in some ways. yet he is still so difficult to deal with. He has been diagnosed with ADD and ODD. His dad left us when he was three and only comes around when its convienent for him. (maybe once a month) I know it hurts them very much. So i wonder how much of his problem is situational. I am a full time student. (1 more year til i recieve my RN) I am doing this so that we can have a better life. I have realized we cant count on support from his father and I want to be the best I can be for them, but I feel as if i should drop out so that I can deal with his behavioral problems. the teacher at summer school says she doesnt know how he will be able to function in school in the fall. I am at a loss. there is no support groups around my area. I have called everywhere. I need help. I cant do this all on my own. :anxious::(

nvts

Hi! I can't make this long (baby is fussing!). Have you had a neuropsychologist done on the twins? It's testing done that takes a while to get in (around here it's about 6 weeks!) but it's worth it. ADD and ODD can sometimes indicate other things that a pediatrician might not look for.

How was his early development? How about different stuff like problems with itchy tags, loud noises, picky eating, obsession about a certain type of toy or interest and being the "foremost authority" about it?

I'll pop back later! Hang in there - you CAN do this! You've found a lot of support here - we'll do everything possible to help!

Beth

JJJ