vyvanse

chrisbrandy

Hello, i am new at this but need some ecouragement. This is my sons 2nd medicine in 3 months. Last week was his best week ever at school (according to his teacher). We are on Christmas break and he is so emotional. We have already lost about 4 pounds. The part i am struggling with is his emotions and he just wants to play by himself. Maybe we never noticed it before because he was so hyper. But i am struggling with "Are we doing the right thing?" Today is 2 weeks on this one, can anyone tell me that the emotions balance out? I need encouragement. My husband wants to take it off of him for break so he eats, but i say not a good idea. Any advice?

Signed, Hope this one works!

smallworld

How old is your son? How much Vyvanse is he taking?

When you say he is so emotional, what exactly do you mean? Is he emotional when the Vyvanse wears off, say in the late afternoon?

Is he eating a good breakfast before he takes his medications in the morning? Does he eat a lot in the evening after the medications have worn off?

Sorry for all the questions, but your answers will help us help you!

K

Kjs

My son has tried many stimulants. Anything with Ritalin has put him in a terrible, scary mood. Adderall actually put him to sleep.

This year they gave him Vyvanse. he tried it one day before school started and said he didn't like the way it made him feel. He never took it again. Until...two weeks ago. He had a physical and his MD. told him that he needs to take it more than just one day. Try it a week.

He was wiped out after school. psychiatrist said he can take one at lunch also. (low dose)