where to start

lostinmidwest

Hi.all newbie here and so confused, found this forum by chance and have been reading post. I and I think it could be very usefull to me and husband, our soon to be daughter is verbaly and agressively violent she is also very defiant with tantrum that last anywhere from 30 min to 2 hours, has to be in control at all times, if she is in time out in her room she i kicking throwing things and demanding that me or husband get to her room now or else.she is 5yo 6 in june. We are trying to figure out how we can help her she has had a psy. evaluation with no definit diagnosis we were told could be possible adhd but just hyperactive part, odd, pstd, reactive attachment disorder.daughter is seeing psychiatrists. who has put her on medications. daughter is in counseling 1x per week, most of the time out burst are just at home or around other family members not to often in public although has happend, she will yell at us that we are stupid, she hates us and wishes we were dead she does hit and punch us when she does not get her way. Wondering is there a way to get a definit diagnosis and what else we can do and where to go from here?:confused:

tiredmommy

First off, welcome. :) Is your child adopted? You want to make sure that you rule out physical causes first (my child's problems appear to be related to her allergies and asthma). Then, you will need to see a developmental pediatrician or neuropsychologist, they often have waiting lists and neuropsychs are often not covered by insurance. They can usually be found in large university hospitals or children's hospitals.

BusynMember