Need Help With Boundaries

M

ML

Hello group. I am new to the PE world because difficult child adult stepson moved in about 6 weeks ago into our basement.

I came into his life when he was 18 and he is now 26. He's lived with us before for short periods of time and it's been difficult. It's like having an angry moody teenager back in the house again. Strange how they resort back into the "child" role.

I have several friends with kids about this age so I know that the sense of entitlement is pretty typical. They resent it when you start expecting them to be responsible for their self care like paying for food or rent. He was out on his own for a couple of years but as soon as they're back they want to be taken care of while at the same time independent and coming and going at will.

He lost his job but his unemployment is about 1600 a month and he has only one bill for about 200. Which brings me to the first question. I want to charge him about 250 to cover the increase in our food bill and increase in utilities. He seems reluctant. husband won't push it and I don't feel comfortable being the bad guy. But frankly our budget can't afford the extra. So I guess I will have to be the landlord.

The other problem I have is that he sleeps all day. During the week when we're at work I don't see it but on the weekends he doesn't get up till about 5pm. It's not a good example for manster for one thing. BUT, is this my business?

I don't understand what is okay to expect and what I need to let go of. It's not my child so I think this makes it harder.

I'm pretty much someone who struggles with being too nice but I'm not experienced with having an adult difficult child. I'm still working on being tougher parent with 10 year old. I don't know the rules with all this and I'm looking for help.

Any words of advice will be appreciated.

Thanks,

ML

N

Nomad

in my humble opinion, you and your spouse need to get on the same page about what you will require of your stepson.